Marriage Musings

Falling down the rabbit hole of marriage

Change…

on June 5, 2012

This last weekend I went to a wedding with my sister-in-law. Every time I go to a wedding I am reminded of my own. While it was a happy day it didn’t turn out how I had pictured. Part of that was my fault. I was so afraid of being a Bridezilla that I didn’t have the confidence to be clear on what I wanted. This trip was the second of three trips I will be taking in a month without J.

I would never have thought of making all of these trips without him a few years ago. All of the time we have been together (9 years this fall) he has always been encouraging. He has always had more confidence in me and my abilities than I have. This is one quality I really appreciate about him.

An important part of marriage is change. Growth is expected as Christians which means that the person you married is not going to be the same person you are married to now. I am very thankful that J loved me then and loves me now. Many people use change in a person as an excuse for divorce but positive change should be welcomed not discouraged. People are naturally going to change. In our marriage change has been good. We are learning to be more selfless, patient, loving, and the list goes on. I am thankful that we are not the same people we used to be.

Questions:

How has growth been approached in your marriage?

What has been a challenging area of growth?

Leave a Reply

